Blue Flag Criteria

Beaches are awarded the Blue Flag based on compliance with 32 criteria while marinas must comply with 24 criteria covering the following areas;

1) Environmental Education and Information Provision

2) Water Quality

3) Environmental Management

4) Safety and Services


All Blue Flags are awarded for one season at a time. If there is persistent failure to comply with criteria during the season or commitments made at the time of the application are not being fulfilled, the Blue Flag may be withdrawn.


To find out about the criteria in more detail please use the menu on the right.

 Girl on beach






Search - Use spaces to separate your keywords

Get in touch

© 2017 Blue Flag Ireland - Web design by Webtrade